Why I Have Been Gone from Site

Hello,

I would like to apologize for my absence from this site.

About 2 months ago, I  had a retinal detachment from my right eye. Within that time frame, I have had 6 surgeries to try to re-attatch the retina. Surgeries include 2 gas injections to my eye and 3 ventricular surgeries with lazering, a buckle placed around my eye, and more gas injections into the eye during those surgeries.  The lens was taken out of my eye to minimize cataract development. Even with all of the work done, my retina has detached a second time.  At the last surgery a heavy water substance was placed in my eye in an attempt to keep the retina in place. I go in July 12 to get the water removed and to possibly put more gas in my eye. The doctor is hopeful this will keep my retina in place. His words today were “If your retina detaches a  third time then you would be like 1 in million and I’m going to jump off a cliff.” We all laughed at the statement to lighten the mood and I am also hoping this weighted water does the trick. A lens will be put in my eye at a later time. So until my retina stays in place, I will be in and out of surgeries to try to regain my sight in my right eye and hope it doesn’t spread to the left eye.

I have had to put everything on hold. Including writing, reading, college, housework, and playing with my children.Computer time is limited to 10 minutes at a time, because of dizziness.  I can not wait until this is over.

Thank you to all who have supported me. When this nightmare is all over I have pictures and updates to post.

-Margaret Compeau

3 thoughts on “Why I Have Been Gone from Site

Leave a Reply

